WHO REALLY MAKES evidence-graded answers
Kirkland Signature Trail Mix, 4 lbs Pantry Unknown
Kirkland Signature · Pantry

Who makes Kirkland Signature Trail Mix, 4 lbs?

Manufacturer
Not established
Citable fact

No reliable public evidence identifies the manufacturer of Kirkland Signature Trail Mix, 4 lbs as of October 12, 2026.

Verified October 12, 2026
The common claim vs. the evidence

The common claim

What’s commonly claimed, and what the evidence supports

There is no widely repeated answer for who makes Kirkland Signature Trail Mix. Unlike some Kirkland items, no co-brand, Costco catalog listing, or recall notice names its maker. John B. Sanfilippo & Son, a large private-label nut and trail-mix processor, lists Costco among its accounts and is a plausible candidate, but no tier 1-5 source connects it to the Kirkland trail mix, so the maker is not publicly documented.

What we searched

Evidence & sources

Costco does not disclose its suppliers, and no tier 1–5 source names the maker of this product. Below are the databases and records we checked, and what each one returned.

What we checked: 6 databases & records, as of October 12, 2026
Recall sweep (FDA openFDA food-enforcement API; CPSC SaferProducts; FSIS) July 5, 2026

openFDA food-enforcement search for 'trail mix' + 'kirkland' returned 0 matches; CPSC does not cover packaged food and returned nothing relevant. The 2016 SunOpta sunflower-kernel Listeria contamination triggered a large cascade of downstream trail-mix and snack recalls (including Brown & Haley's Mountain Thins Trail Mix, Kroger Cranberry Delight Trail Mix, and Kashi Trail Mix bars), but no public recall notice named Kirkland Signature Trail Mix, and none identified a Kirkland co-packer. No recall route surfaced a maker.

Costco's manufacturer field on Costco.com product pages (costco.com blocks bots, Wayback only) July 5, 2026

The current Kirkland Signature Trail Mix listings (item #100752766, 4 lb; item #100770569, snack packs) have no Wayback snapshot, and the only archived Costco page (the older .product.100752766.html template, snapshot 2025-03-17) predates Costco's manufacturer field that resolved the Kirkland popcorn and granola-bar listings. The manufacturer-field route is unavailable for this item; capturing the live product page's manufacturer field still needs a manual browser check.

CourtListener / RECAP federal court records (v4 search API) July 5, 2026

Search for "Kirkland Signature" + "trail mix" returned 0 opinions. No litigation names a supplier of Kirkland Signature Trail Mix.

News / trade-press / executive-statement sweep (Google/Bing news, food trade press) July 5, 2026

No article or executive statement names the maker of Kirkland Signature Trail Mix. John B. Sanfilippo & Son (Fisher, Orchard Valley Harvest, Squirrel Brand) is a major private-label nut and trail-mix processor that lists Costco among its key accounts and is a plausible candidate, but no source ties JBSS to the Kirkland trail mix specifically.

On-package / co-brand / origin check (Costco listing, Amazon and reseller product copy) July 5, 2026

The mix's M&M's candies are a Mars product used as an inclusion, not the maker; the pack states it is processed and packed in the USA and 'Distributed by Costco Wholesale', with no co-packer or 'made by' entity named on the label.

ImportYeti / customs bills of lading and community roundup-article scan July 5, 2026

Import route structurally weak here (US-market trail mix is packed domestically and Costco masks many shipments via freight forwarders, so absence proves nothing). A 'Snackathon Foods' Kirkland trail-mix page is a third-party reseller listing (now returning HTTP 404), not a manufacturer. No roundup article or community thread converges on an evidenced maker.

People also ask

Frequently asked

Who makes Kirkland Signature trail mix for Costco?
No reliable public evidence identifies the manufacturer. Costco does not disclose the supplier, the product's current listing has no archived manufacturer field, and no recall notice names a co-packer. John B. Sanfilippo & Son, a large private-label nut and trail-mix processor that counts Costco among its accounts, is a plausible candidate, but no tier 1-5 source ties it to the Kirkland trail mix.
Was Kirkland trail mix part of the 2016 sunflower seed Listeria recall?
No Kirkland Signature Trail Mix recall is documented from that event. The 2016 SunOpta sunflower-kernel Listeria contamination triggered a cascade of downstream trail-mix and snack recalls (including Brown & Haley's Mountain Thins, Kroger Cranberry Delight, and Kashi trail-mix bars), but no public recall notice named Kirkland Signature Trail Mix, and none identified a Kirkland co-packer.
Kirkland trail mix has M&M's. Does that mean Mars makes it?
No. The trail mix includes M&M's candies, a Mars product, alongside peanuts, raisins, cashews, and almonds, but those candies are an ingredient inclusion, not evidence that Mars blends or packs the mix. No public source names the company that actually assembles and packages Kirkland Signature Trail Mix.
Prefer the name brand? Planters Nut & Chocolate Trail Mix The closest name-brand equivalent to this Kirkland Signature product.

Get notified when a Kirkland manufacturer changes

Suppliers change without announcement. Sign up to get an email when we log a new maker for a Kirkland product.

Change-log newsletter · no spam · unsubscribe anytime.

All Pantry products →  ·  Full catalog  ·  How we grade →