WHO REALLY MAKES evidence-graded answers
Kirkland Signature Prosecco (Italian DOC / DOCG sparkling) Wine Unknown
Kirkland Signature · Wine

Who makes Kirkland Signature Prosecco (Italian DOC / DOCG sparkling)?

Manufacturer
Not established
Citable fact

No reliable public evidence identifies the manufacturer of Kirkland Signature Prosecco (Italian DOC / DOCG sparkling) as of October 5, 2026.

Verified October 5, 2026
The common claim vs. the evidence

The common claim

What’s commonly claimed, and what the evidence supports

Popular explainers credit 'Misa Imports' and describe a 'cooperative of acclaimed growers,' but an importer is a distributor, not the winery, and no reliable public evidence identifies the Italian producer or bottler of Kirkland Signature Prosecco. Costco sells several different Prosecchi under the label (a basic Prosecco DOC, an Asolo Prosecco Superiore DOCG, a Valdobbiadene Prosecco Superiore DOCG, and a Prosecco Rose DOC). Back labels disclose only the appellation and the US importer of record: Misa Imports on the Asolo bottling, and F&F Fine Wines International (dba Ethica Wines) on the Valdobbiadene DOCG named in the November 2025 CPSC recall. The winery behind the wine stays undisclosed.

What we searched

Evidence & sources

Costco does not disclose its suppliers, and no tier 1–5 source names the maker of this product. Below are the databases and records we checked, and what each one returned.

What we checked: 9 databases & records, as of October 5, 2026
Back-label transcription — Reverse Wine Snob (Kirkland Signature Asolo Prosecco Superiore DOCG) July 6, 2026

Back label reads only 'From prime estate vineyards in the historic Veneto regions... the best grapes cultivated with passion in a magnificent territory close to the Italian Alps' (11% alcohol) and names the US importer 'Misa Imports.' No Italian winery, cooperative, or bottler is identified.

CPSC recall notice — F&F Fine Wines Recalls Kirkland Signature Valdobbiadene Prosecco DOCG (Nov 6, 2025) July 6, 2026

Recall of ~941,400 bottles (item 1879870, UPC 196633883742) for a glass laceration hazard names the recalling firm/importer 'F&F Fine Wines International, Inc. (dba Ethica Wines), Miami, FL' and says the bottles were manufactured in Italy, but names no Italian wine producer or bottler. The recall concerns the glass, not the wine.

Costco Wine Blog 'real producers behind Kirkland Signature wines' roundup July 6, 2026

The roundup that names producers for most Kirkland wines (Champagne, Cotes du Rhone, Malbec, etc.) lists no producer for any Kirkland Prosecco — a telling omission for a wine whose Italian maker is undisclosed.

Costco Wine Blog / Wine Enthusiast reviews (Asolo Prosecco Superiore DOCG, Valdobbiadene Prosecco Superiore DOCG, Prosecco Rose DOC) July 6, 2026

Reviews record DOC/DOCG designations, vintages, and ~11% ABV but identify no producing winery or bottler; the Prosecco Rose is DOC, the Asolo and Valdobbiadene bottlings are DOCG.

TTB COLA Public Registry (imported-wine certificates of label approval) July 6, 2026

COLAs for imported wine identify the US importer/permittee (here Misa Imports or Ethica Wines), not the foreign crush winery; ttbonline.gov blocks automated queries, so a definitive COLA producer line was not resolvable without a manual browser lookup.

General web / trade press (Chowhound, The Drinks Business, content explainers) July 6, 2026

Coverage names only the US importers/distributors (Misa Imports, Ethica Wines) and repeats an unsourced 'cooperative of growers' description; no reliable source names the actual Italian producer.

Importer trail — CPSC recall 26-068 and Ethica Wines' own Valdobbiadene listings October 5, 2026

No producer named. The November 2025 recall notice identifies F&F Fine Wines International, Inc., trading as Ethica Wines of Miami, Florida, as the recalling firm and importer of the Kirkland Signature Valdobbiadene Prosecco DOCG (item 1879870, UPC 196633883742, about 941,400 bottles), records the wine as made in Italy, and lists Costco as distributor. An importer is not the producer, and the notice names no Italian winery. Ethica's own Valdobbiadene pages cover the estates it imports under their own labels, among them Nino Franco and BiancaVigna, but none of them connects a cantina to the Kirkland bottling.

TTB COLA Public Registry — label-approval search on the brand and the recalled bottling October 5, 2026

Not retrievable, and limited even when it loads. The registry's public search would not open for us on 2026-10-05. For imported wine a label approval names the US importer holding the permit — here Ethica Wines or Misa Imports — rather than the foreign cantina that made the wine, so this registry route would not name a producer for this bottling in any case.

Italian wine trade press on the recall (Cronache di Gusto, November 2025) October 5, 2026

Describes the wine as a private label made specifically for Costco and 'non riconducibile ai marchi storici veneti' — not traceable to the established Veneto houses — and names only F&F Fine Wines International as the bottler of record and Ethica Wines as its US distributor. The Italian coverage closest to these producers treats the maker as undisclosed.

People also ask

Frequently asked

Who makes Kirkland Signature Prosecco?
No reliable public evidence identifies the Italian winery that makes it. The back labels name only the appellation ('prime estate vineyards in the historic Veneto regions') and the US importer of record: Misa Imports on the Asolo Prosecco Superiore DOCG bottling, and F&F Fine Wines International (dba Ethica Wines) on the Valdobbiadene Prosecco Superiore DOCG identified in the November 2025 CPSC recall. Those firms import and distribute the wine; they are not stated to be its producer, and no source names the cooperative or estate that actually vinifies and bottles it in Italy.
Is Kirkland Prosecco real DOC/DOCG Prosecco?
Yes. Costco sells it in genuine protected designations: a Prosecco DOC (including a Prosecco Rose DOC) plus higher-tier Asolo Prosecco Superiore DOCG and Valdobbiadene Prosecco Superiore DOCG bottlings. By law those come from the delimited Veneto zones and are made mostly from the Glera grape. The specific producing winery, however, is not printed on the label.
Is there a Kirkland Prosecco Rose, and who makes it?
Yes, there is a Kirkland Signature Prosecco Rose in the DOC classification (about 11% alcohol). As with the white bottlings, the label discloses the appellation and the US importer but not the Italian producer, so its maker is also unconfirmed. Sourcing can differ between the rose and the various white Prosecco tiers, so check the specific bottle's back label.
Prefer the name brand? La Marca Prosecco DOC The closest name-brand equivalent to this Kirkland Signature product.

Get notified when a Kirkland manufacturer changes

Suppliers change without announcement. Sign up to get an email when we log a new maker for a Kirkland product.

Change-log newsletter · no spam · unsubscribe anytime.

All Wine products →  ·  Full catalog  ·  How we grade →